Posted by adian on October - 12 - 2012 0 Comment


Team Kazama Powered By DRIVE M7 have set the official fastest ever recorded street car laptime at the classically challenging Pasir Gudang circuit in Johor Bahru with a time of 1m 44.861s at Hyrax Oil MegaLAP Time Attack 2012 Round 5 Pasir Gudang which was held on 7 October 2012.

Hyrax Oil MegaLAP Time Attack Pasir Gudang is the first ever time attack event to take place at the venerable but much loved Johor Circuit, with its 12 high-speed corners and flowing circuit layout challenging the 55 drivers and teams as they pounded away to become the fastest ever cars at Pasir Gudang. Participating vehicles ranged from a string of Volvo 240s to a stunning Porsche Cayman S, with entries from KL, JB, and Singapore. There really was something for everyone!

Cars were lining up at the entrance, lead by the VolvoRacer Club

It’s been 8 years since Pasir Gudang had a proper timing system installed and operating – the last was the 2004 Proton track Carnival which incidentally we also organised, but as Proton R3 staff at the time. So the complete timing loop had to be rented, brought down and installed: not cheap!

On Sunday morning the participating cars started streaming in, as did *surprise* a whole bunch of spectators! It’s been awhile since we’ve been at a classic track that is much loved by the locals the same way that Batu Tiga was, and as we found out, so is Pasir Gudang. A total of 650 specatators turned up that day, which was pretty good considering it’s our first ever event there!

With a total of 18 entries, we created a special category for the VolvoRacers Club, which saw intense action as these most unassuming of Time Attack machines belted around the circuit at astonishing speeds! Remember, Volvo have always been involved in Touring Car racing and thus there are actually many parts and a lot of knowledge over in Europe on how to make these bricks fly! There were a few incidents but overall the club performed well and they had a great, great time: they printed event t-shirts and came in a big convoy, it was really enjoyable to see these cubbers get down and dirty together! Fastest Volvo of the day was an S70 driven by SNF-regular Ghazi Fawwaz with a time of 2m 01.903s.

In the Clubsprint category for street tyres, there was a big turn out for the VTEC & Turbo category. LaiWee Sing (“Ah-Lai”) in the Team Kazama Powered By DRIVE M7 Honda Civic Type-R won it effortlessly in 1m45.780.

Jayhangir is a KL boy and a PG virgin, but he gave no mercy and balled it hard to take 2nd in his category!

Jayhangir and his Subaru flew all the way down from KL, plus he’s a first timer, but man he was having a ball. I was behind him for a few laps and he was chucking the car into the turns, really enjoying the flowy-circuit. “We’ve got to come back again, its an awesome circuit!” he exclaimed at the end of the day after coming Runner-Up to Ah-Lai with a time of 1m49.207. That’s fab. We really do hope to see more central and northern region friends make the trip down for the rounds next year!

2nd Runner-Up was none other than Moorthy Ayyavu in his daily-driven FD2R with a time of 1m50.677. Of note is racer Ken Yap, more famous for his machine ‘Evonne’ who ran an S15 in this category. Why not ‘Evonne’? “Unfortunately we’re nursing a misfire problem and couldn’t sort it out in time, but Pasir Gudang is a shiok circuit and not to be missed, so the S15 it had to be,” explains Ken. Expect his beloved Evonne to be around next year.

Clubsprint NA had slight confusion after the podium ceremony when the timing team realised that they had wrongly categorised Mohd Fazaruddin (‘Bhai”) and his very quick kevlar front-end Satria GTI. So yes, while it is me on the top step of the podium in the photos, actual and moral win goes to Bhai, who beat me by just over half a second in a time of 1m57.090. Next round he has vowed to go faster still, so he’s definitely one to watch out for!

The real Clubsprint NA winner: Mohd Fazaruddin!

Clubsprint Campro/4G9x category sadly only featured 2 teams at this point, as other teams in typically Malaysian  /Singaporean fashion said “Wanna see how it goes first” for this round rather than take part. No worries, that means it’s trophies for both cars! Michael Ayyavu piloted his SNF-famous Satria Neo around the track in 1m56.288 to take the win, with Tommy Ho doing 2m05.691 which isn’t too bad for a PG first-timer!

Team Kazama Powered By DRIVE M7’s driver Ah-Lai set the blistering time with their heavily-tuned Honda Civic FD2 Type-R which won top honours in the Pro-FF category for Street-tuned cars running semi-slick tyres. Ah-Lai mentions, “We set-up the car to run on the new Hankook RS3 tyres for the Clubsprint category, but during the event day when we initially swapped to the Yokohama A050 semi-slick tyres the handling balance was off and we were not able to go any much quicker.” After setting a ‘banker’ in the 1st session, the team adapted and only ran the A050s at the front for the 2nd Pro-FF session which resulted in their best time.

A regular at SNF last year, Jonathan Xie of SK Racing and Singapore was bloody quick in his Civic FD2R to do 1m48.512 and take 2nd place, beating Gerald Tan in the 9tro Civic FD2R (1m50.122).

Pro-4WD featured a battle between James Kee and Michael Choo. Michael tried to close the gap in the 2nd session and put in a time of 1m51.793 as James’ tyres were past their best by then, but unfortunately the white Subaru’s time from session 1 was good enough for the win with 1m50.796. Jerry Lim, also in a Subaru WRX, took 3rd with 1m54.912.

Nick Mah's sweet Cayman S won Pro-RWD

Pro-RWD category saw high-powered sports cars taking to the circuits tortuous curves, with eventual winner Nick Mah setting a best time of 1m54.929 in his Porsche Cayman S, only a few tenths quicker than Lim Keong Wee’s Lotus Exige which did 1m55.210. Mohd Nasri Said picked his way through the circuit in his E92 M3 to finish 3rd (1m59.180), the much heavier coupe not being able to match the nimble sports cars.

In the Open 2WD category Kesavamoorthy Ayyavu of Ayyavu Jr. Racing Team in his Honda Integra DC5 Type-R took top spot with a best time of 1m 47.949s, just ahead of Jonathan Xie of SK Garage. Singaporean Mark Ong blasted his S2000 to 3rd place with 1m49.194.

And there was only 1 entry for Open 4WD, this being Iskandar Dzulkhairi in his Evo9, which sadly gutted it’s gearbox after session 1!

As the event wore-down, there were positive remarks and comments being thrown about the pitlane as the excited teams and drivers exclaimed that PG still has it’s magic, and it seems that everyone is very much looking forward to the next MegaLAP Time Attack round that will take place at Johor Circuit. It’ll have to be next year though!

So we move to the MegaLAP Time Attack 2012 Grand Finale will take place at Sepang International Circuit on 1st December 2012 with a night Time Attack from 7pm till 11pm, together with a dance party by reknown organisers TWELVE running from 3:00 pm till 1:00 am on the Pit Rooftop. Tickets and details available from the website soon. So stay tuned for that!

Full race results available on the Results page, please click on this link

– If you would like a Hi-Res file copy for only RM 10.00, please contact us

Categories: Highlights, News, Photos

Leave a Reply

Only RM400!

Search Site